Helping cats and dogs live their healthiest lives.
Puppy

Essential items for your new puppy

Puppy dog lying down in grass chewing a toy.
It's important to prepare for the arrival of your puppy in advance to help them settle into their new home comfortably and easily. A checklist of essential items is a great way to make sure you have everything you need.

It's essential to prepare in advance for the arrival of your new puppy. Whilst choosing the right food is important, there are also a number of other preparations you need to make, such as a space to eat and drink, a place to sleep and things to play with. Preparing a checklist of essential items is a useful way to make sure you have everything you need before your new puppy arrives.

Puppy bed

Your puppy needs plenty of time to rest and sleep once they arrive, as it helps them to grow, so providing them with a comfortable bed or a puppy crate is essential. Beds should be positioned in a quiet corner where they have space of their own.

This will help your puppy get used to their new home, and give them somewhere to feel safe to fall asleep. Choose easy to clean bedding that is still thick enough to be comfortable, and perhaps add a rag with the mother’s scent to help your puppy settle more easily.

Food and water bowls for your puppy

Durable food and water bowls are important as your teething puppy will chew anything in sight, which can be a problem when using plastic bowls. Stainless steel food and water bowls are recommended as they are more sanitary and easy to clean, they also don't break or chip like ceramic bowls.

Find a permanent place for your puppy’s bowls that's quiet and safe, so they have a consistent area to eat. It's best to leave a little bowl for food and a bigger one filled with water.

Puppy grooming brush or comb

Your puppy will need a specialised grooming brush or comb to keep their coats healthy and tidy. Grooming your puppy regularly familiarises them with being touched and handled by people, which will make the task easier for both of you as they grow bigger and stronger.

There are a number of brushes or grooming mitts available for dogs. Grooming tools are designed for specific hair lengths so it's important to choose one that's suited to your puppy's coat.

Adult Pomeranian standing on a white countertop while a woman grooms it.

Toys for your puppy

Providing toys for your puppy to play with is a good way to socialise and avoid them chewing on your furniture. It’s important to choose a toy that is appropriate for the size of your puppy. Toys should be twice the size of your puppy's mouth to prevent the risk of choking or strangulation.

Rubber dog toys tend to be the most durable, but should only be purchased from reputable pet stores or the vet clinic. Soft toys aren't indestructible, but some are sturdier than others. Soft toys should be machine washable.

It's important to never leave your puppy unsupervised with rope or material toys as they can become a choking hazard if swallowed, or cause an intestinal blockage. Bones should also be avoided as they can splinter and cause internal injuries. Once your puppy’s toys start to show signs of wear and tear you should discard them to avoid any accidents.

Puppy Collar and lead

Although they won’t venture beyond the garden in the early days, a collar and lead are essential so your puppy gets used to wearing them. Make sure the collar is snug enough so it can’t slip over your puppy’s head and includes a tag carrying your name and telephone number.

Having all the basic items prepared in advance will help your new puppy adjust more easily as you introduce them to their new home.

  • Puppyhood

Like & share this page

Tailored nutrition for your puppy

A range of formulas that help build their natural defences, support healthy growth and digestive system development.

Puppy products
puppy packshot
Related Articles
Puppy dog lying down on an examination table in a vets office.

Canine distemper in dogs

Puppy Saint Bernards sitting together in a field.

The key stages of puppy growth

Puppy Siberian Husky lying down on an examination table in a vets office.

Kennel cough in dogs

Cookie Settings

幫助貓狗過最健康的生活。

剛開始飼養幼犬的必備物品

小狗躺在草上咬著玩具。
提前為幼犬的到來做好準備至關重要,這樣能夠幫助愛犬舒適輕鬆地適應他們的新家。 您需要一個列出所有必備物品的清單,這是協助您確保自己做好萬全準備的好方法。

可別忽視幼犬到來前的準備。 雖然選擇合適的食物有很高的重要性,但做好其他準備也是必要的,例如:選擇幼犬吃飯喝水的地方、睡覺的地方和玩具等。 請先列出所有必備物品的清單,這是協助您確保在幼犬住進家中前,您已做好所有準備的好辦法。

幼犬的床

一旦您的幼犬抵達家中,就需要有足夠的時間來休息和睡覺,這有助於他們成長,因此為他們提供舒適的床或幼犬箱是必須的步驟。 幼犬的床應位於安靜的角落,提供犬自己的空間;

把床放在寧靜的角落會讓幼犬更快適應新家,帶來安全感並更輕鬆地入睡。 不妨選擇容易清潔,厚度適中且舒適的床鋪用品,亦可以放置一塊帶有狗媽媽味道的布,來幫忙幼犬更輕易適應新環境。

為幼犬準備食物碗和飲水碗

耐用的食物碗和飲水碗是必需品,因為剛長牙的幼犬可能會咀嚼看到的任何東西,若使用塑膠碗或許會造成不必要的困擾。 建議使用不銹鋼食物和飲水碗,不僅更加衛生也更容易清潔,並且不像陶瓷碗一樣有摔碎或破裂的風險。

請將幼犬的碗放置於一個固定、安靜和安全的地點,使幼犬穩定在同一地方進食; 最好放上一個小碗作食物碗,並以一個較大的碗用來盛水。

幼犬梳毛刷或梳子

您的幼犬將會需要一隻專屬的整理毛髮刷或梳子,用來保持他們的毛皮處於良好健康狀態和維持整潔。 定期替愛犬整理毛髮可增加對梳理毛髮的熟悉度,經由反覆的過程可以降低他的排斥心,這樣一來可以順利在他們更大更壯時繼續幫他們梳理。

市面上有販售許多犬專用的梳毛刷或梳毛手套; 整理毛髮工具是專門為特定毛髮長度的犬而設計,所以請別忘了必須選擇適合您幼犬毛髮的工具。

一名女人替站在白色檯面上的成年博美犬整理毛髮。

適合幼犬的玩具

為您的幼犬準備玩耍用的玩具,是協助他們學習社交與防止他們咬家具的好方法。 請您務必選擇適合您幼犬體型的玩具。 玩具應為幼犬嘴的兩倍大,防止窒息或勒斃的風險。

橡膠狗玩具通常最耐玩,但應只從信譽良好的寵物商店或獸醫診所購買。 柔軟的玩具並非堅不可摧,但有些較堅固,有些則否。 您應選擇可機洗的柔軟玩具。

切記不可讓幼犬在無人看管的情況下玩繩索或有零件的玩具,因為他們可能誤吞而發生窒息的危險,或導致腸道堵塞。 另外亦應避免給他們骨頭啃咬,因為骨頭會碎裂且可能造成內傷。 一旦幼犬的玩具開始出現破損的跡象就應丟棄,以免發生任何意外。

幼犬項圈與牽繩

雖然幼犬早期不會冒險離開庭院,但項圈和牽繩仍不可少,讓您的幼犬習慣戴著它們。 確認項圈貼合度足夠,才不會滑出幼犬的頭部,並且加上一個有您的名字和電話號碼的標籤。

請預先準備好所有必備物品,這樣便能協助幼犬在初到新家時可更快地適應環境。

  • 幼犬成長期

讚好和分享此頁面

為幼犬度身定製的營養配方

這些營養配方可助愛寵建立天然抵抗力,促進健康成長及消化系統良好發育。

幼犬產品
相關文章
幼犬躺在獸醫辦公室的檢驗枱上。

犬瘟熱

年幼的西伯利亞雪撬犬躺在獸醫辦公室內的檢驗枱上。

狗房咳

聖伯納幼犬坐在田野上。

幼犬關鍵成長階段