How often should you feed a puppy?

5/9/2022
Reading time 5 min
LABRADOR PUPPY EATING - START OF LIFE EMBLEMATIC

You’re not alone with this question. Many new puppy parents wonder how often to feed a puppy. Your puppy's breed and future size dictate their unique nutritional needs. As a pet owner, providing them with a balanced diet—including the correct nutrient balance —is essential. It sets them on the road to a healthy adulthood, supporting both their physical growth and brain development. Brushing up on the basics of puppy feeding and nutrition will help you take the best care of your new puppy.  

All you need to know about your puppy’s development

Puppies grow differently depending on their breed and how big that breed will be in adulthood. But all puppies share similar stages of development in their first months. Their bodies are busy developing physically and cognitively while they learn the social skills they’ll need in their new position as your family dog.

During all stages of puppyhood, nutrition, exercise and sleep are essential for their physical and mental health.

Cavashonpuppy lying on a couch with its head between its paws

Newborn to 4 weeks, the neonatal stage

Your puppy came into the world without the ability to see, hear or smell, relying entirely on their mum for all their physical and nutritional needs. They spend most of their time sleeping, crawling to their mother for nourishment, warmth and protection using only their taste and touch senses.

Weeks two through four begin the transformation from a helpless puppy to a clumsy one. As their senses develop, their eyes open, letting them see their surroundings. They don’t see well until eight weeks, so everything is blurry. Their ear canals will also open, allowing them to hear. Your puppy uses these new senses to interact with their mother and littermates.

By week four, your puppy can walk but will be gawky. They start to bark, wag their tail and can take care of their toilet needs independently. During this time, the baby or milk teeth emerge. Puppy teeth are very sharp and can be uncomfortable for their mother, so she will begin the gradual weaning process.

While the puppies are transitioning to solid foods, the mother’s milk decreases and the puppies lose lactose tolerance. They enter ‘the immunity gap’, meaning their immune system is not mature enough to protect them from disease, while the immunity coming from colostrum is declining. Puppy vaccinations give some of the protection they need.

4 to 8 weeks, the fearless puppy

During this period, your puppy will complete weaning and be an independent eater. They interact more with their siblings and mother, starting the learning curve of puppy etiquette, such as the difference between biting to hurt and biting to play.

At this age, puppies have a high fear threshold—they are close to fearless. This is the time to gradually, and with loads of positive reinforcement, start introducing them to different environments, sights, sounds and people. Be careful about introducing them to other healthy and friendly animals unless your puppy is fully vaccinated. Socialisation is a crucial part of puppy development.

Your puppy is mature enough to go to their permanent family from eight weeks onward.

8 to 12 weeks, your little sponge

During this period, skeletal development works hard to support your growing puppy. Complete puppy food that contains adequate amounts of calcium and phosphorus support skeletal growth. Supplements are unnecessary. A supplement will do more harm than good if your pup is on quality food. Large breeds have different nutritional needs than smaller breeds because they carry more muscle and heavier bones and have a longer growing period.

Your puppy will be a sponge, eager to explore new experiences. Positive reinforcement training, loads of praise and tasty treats build your puppy’s confidence and sense of security, which is a good thing because the fearless period doesn’t last. When introducing an unfamiliar experience, observing before participation reduces the risk of your puppy becoming frightened.

Around 10-12 weeks, your puppy may come into a fearful or wary stage of development. It doesn’t last long either but watch your puppy for signs of fear or anxiety and be ready to step in with pet-parent comforting skills.

Your puppy is forming solid bonds with their people, developing a lifetime relationship. Puppy socialisation and basic training can begin during this life stage.

12 to 24 weeks, the pre-adolescent puppy

Your puppy’s skeleton is still developing, requiring the correct amount of calcium and phosphorus. Too much calcium can cause skeletal deformities. Complete quality puppy foods have the proper amount puppies need.

Your puppy has a lot to figure out about life right now. The fearful stage passes at ten weeks, and puppies become curious enough to explore their surroundings more independently. They’re learning the pecking order of both family and other pets. Personality traits become apparent.

The best part of this age is puppy vocalisations. Your puppy will try out their barking skills, emitting fierce puppy growls and, if you’re lucky, a howl or two! Of course, this may vary according to the breed.

Baby or milk teeth will fall out as the permanent teeth come in. Toys and chews of different textures and cooled teething toys can soothe teething discomfort and save your personal items.

Socialisation is essential right now. Taking your vaccinated puppy for walks around the neighbourhood provides an opportunity for some quality sniffing action. Controlled interactions with other vaccinated dogs, introducing a variety of new experiences, sights and sounds help build a confident adult dog.

6 to 12 months, the adolescent dog

Adolescent puppies will test boundaries and try to assert themselves in the pack or family. They have a low boredom threshold and need regular mental and physical exercise. Training through play is an effective way to teach basic commands and skills.

Your puppy will reach sexual maturity during this stage. Spaying or neutering puppies changes their nutritional needs. Puppies who have been spayed or neutered require less energy—aka calories—to maintain their correct weight. Enlist the help of your vet if you notice your puppy gaining excess weight.

At seven months, your puppy is still building muscle mass and needs easily digestible, high-quality proteins to support that muscle development.

At 10 months, small breeds are nearing their adult size. Larger breeds reach their adult size between 15 and 24 months. Large breeds put more load on their skeletons due to larger bones and muscle mass. They should remain on puppy food formulated for large breeds to support joints while muscle mass builds.

When your puppy has reached adulthood, feed them adult food that maintains their weight without adding excess calories and supports their nutritional needs as they age.

 

How often should you feed your puppy?

An important tip about portion sizes: The daily amount recommended by your vet, or the manufacturer should be split between all the daily meals to avoid overfeeding. If you use treats for training, those calories should be taken from your puppy’s daily food portions.

 

Puppy feeding schedule

If you’re unsure of typical puppy feeding times, here is an example of a four-meal day:

6:00 a.m.

Wake up

6:30 a.m.

Quick walk/exercise

7:00 a.m.

First meal of the day (note the gap between the walk and the meal.

Eating too soon can cause bloat in large breed dogs such as Retrievers and German Shepherds. Bloat is a sudden and life-threatening swelling of your dog’s stomach. Symptoms are a hard belly that is noticeably swollen and painful to the touch, unproductive vomiting, drooling, and restlessness.

9:00 a.m.

Second walk of the day/exercise 

11:00 p.m.

Second meal of the day

1:00 p.m.

Afternoon walk/exercise

4:00 p.m.

Third meal of the day

7:00 p.m.

Walk/exercise

9:00 p.m.

Last meal of the day

welsh pembroke corgi puppy being carried by owner

How much should you feed your puppy each day?

No matter their breed, puppies have different body types, metabolisms, and nutritional needs. Your veterinarian and the puppy food label all have suggestions on how much to feed your puppy daily. Begin with those suggestions and see how your puppy does. Their body condition should be the indicator of portion control needs. If you notice weight gain, your puppy may be overeating. If they are very lean, their portion may need to increase. Your vet can advise you about your puppy’s body condition. Weighing your puppy regularly and checking the result against growth charts will enable you to feel confident they are on the right path.

Treat or reward-based training methods require adjusting the size of meal portions to accommodate the extra calories in the treats.

 

Puppy feeding routines and tips

  • Feed your puppy at the same time and place each day. Choose a quiet area away from everyday house traffic so your puppy has no distractions. This helps develop healthy eating habits.
  • Don’t feed your puppy as soon as you get home. This practice can contribute to mealtime being associated with their relief in your return. Your arrival home is a wonderful opportunity to reconnect with your puppy instead of offering an immediate meal.
  • As always, talk to your vet about your puppy’s specific nutritional needs if you have any doubts.
  • Supplements are unnecessary if you feed your dog quality puppy food and can cause more harm than good.
  • If you’re considering changing your puppy’s food, talk to your veterinarian first to determine which food or nutritional needs your puppy requires. Then transition slowly to avoid digestive upsets.

 

Food transition schedule

 

 

Talk to your vet if your dog has excessive gas or loose stools. You may need to change foods or portion sizes.


Fresh water should be always available. Your puppy’s body can process all the nutrients supporting their rapid growth when their body is well hydrated.

 

Related articles

LABRADOR PUPPY EATING - START OF LIFE EMBLEMATIC

Puppy feeding nutrition

Read more
english cocker spaniel eating from a bowl indoors

A guide to changing your dogs food

Read more

Back to top

幼犬一天需要吃多少餐呢?

16/4/2024
閱讀時間 5 分鐘
黑色拉不拉多幼犬吃飼料

許多養小狗的新手父母都有同樣的疑問:究竟小狗一天應該吃多少餐呢?
小狗的品種和長大後的體型大小會決定牠們個別的營養需求,作為寵物主人,必須提供充足而又營養均衡的飲食,尤其是發育中的小狗,不但為日後健康打好基礎,也可以支持身體和大腦發育。為了讓你對照顧新狗狗成員更有信心,本篇將重溫餵食小狗的技巧和均衡營養的重要性。

 

幼犬健康成長百科

小狗的成長歷程會因其品種和成犬體型而各有不同。基本上,所有小狗在出生頭幾個月都有著相似的成長過程。在這個成長黃金期,狗狗一方面忙著適應身體及腦袋急促的發展,同時在學習作為家庭一分子所需要的社交技巧。
無論小狗處於成長的哪個階段,營養、運動和睡眠對於牠們的身心健康都是不可或缺的。

 

幼犬凝視前方

初生到4 星期大,初生期/哺乳期

初生小狗是沒有視覺、聽覺和嗅覺的,完全依賴狗媽媽滿足其生理和營養需求。牠們大部分時間都在睡覺,只能依靠味覺和觸覺,爬到母親身邊尋求食物、溫暖和保護。

從第2 星期到第4 星期開始,這個脆弱的生命變得好動。於感官發展初期,眼睛能夠睜開,並看得見周圍的環境。在8 週大之前,牠們的視力非常模糊,都看得不太清楚。另外,耳朵也能夠開始聽到聲音,小狗開始本能地透過有限的感官與母親和其他小狗同伴互動。

到了第4 星期,小狗走路東歪西倒的,開始吠叫,搖尾巴,並且有了大小便的認知。這個時候,乳齒也探出頭來了。小狗的牙齒非常鋒利,哺乳對狗媽媽來說可能會感到不舒服,意味著要踏入斷奶階段了。

當小狗開始轉食固體食物,狗媽媽的母乳量會減少,身體漸漸失去對乳糖的耐受性。踏入「免疫空窗期」 代表牠們的免疫系統尚未成熟,無法對抗疾病的侵害,正當來自初乳的免疫力逐漸下降,疫苗可算是為小狗提供保護身體的第一度防線。

4 星期至2 個月 ,初生之犢/離乳期

這個時候,小狗已完全斷奶並能夠獨立進食了。牠跟同伴和母親的互動會增加,從生活中學習狗狗之間的禮儀,例如分辨攻擊的咬還是玩耍的咬。

這時候的小狗幾乎不懂得害怕為何物。你可以一步一步建立起小狗的自信,讓牠們接觸不同的環境、景象、聲音和人物。不過在小狗未完全接種疫苗之前,與其他健康的小動物接觸時要更加謹慎。社會化是小狗發育最為重要的一環。

8 星期後,小狗已經夠成熟可以離開媽媽,成為新家庭的一分子了。

2 至3 個月,學習高速期/ 成長期

這段期間,骨骼正努力發展以支撐小狗急促發育的身體。營養充足的幼犬食物經已含有足夠的鈣和磷,能夠支持骨骼生長,並不需要額外的營養補充品。如果小狗的食物富有優質營養,使用營養補充品反而會有不良的影響。大型犬種與小型犬種有著不一樣的營養需要,由於大型犬擁有更多的肌肉和更重的骨骼,生長期也比較長。

小狗就像一塊海綿般,不斷探索和吸收新的經驗,因為無畏無懼的時期不會維持太久,主人必須把握機會提供正面積極的強化訓練、大量的讚美和美味的零食,有效建立小狗的自信和安全感。狗狗在接觸新事物或環境時,不妨採取先觀察後參與的策略,可以減低小狗感到緊張和害怕的情況。

大約10 至12 星期左右,小狗將踏入比較膽小的階段,換句話說,牠對身邊事物的警覺性會比較高。即使這段時間不會維持太久,也要留意小狗有否出現恐懼或焦慮的跡象,隨時準備以「父母」的角色安撫牠。

小狗於成長黃金期會與家人建立一輩子的深厚感情,這個階段會最適合進行小狗社會化的基本訓練。

3 至6 個月,青少年期

小狗發育期間需要攝取適量的鈣和磷,但過多的鈣會導致骨骼變形,所以要份外注意食物能否提供小狗所需的均衡與優質營養。

1 歲的狗狗仍然對身邊的事物非常好奇,膽小的階段在10 星期時已過去,現在的牠變得十分活躍,甚至有足夠的膽量獨立探索周圍環境。透過不斷探索,牠們會了解到家庭和其他寵物的長幼排序,個性特徵也漸變鮮明。這個階段最令人期待就是聽到小狗的吠叫聲。牠將會在不同情況下嘗試吠叫,有時咆哮,有時低嚎!然而不同犬種的吠叫情況也會有所不同。

恒齒長出時,乳齒就會隨之脫落。不同質地的玩具,以及涼感的咀嚼玩具可以紓緩小狗出牙的不適,也可讓家中物品保持完好。

這階段的社會化練習非常關鍵。帶著完成接種疫苗的愛犬在家附近散散步,使牠有機會好好嗅聞一下外面的世界。無論與其他已接種疫苗的狗狗互動,或是經歷各種新的體驗、環境和聲音,都有助於培養一隻自信的成犬。

6 至12 個月大,成熟期

踏入青年期的小狗會嘗試挑戰你的底線,並希望在群體或家庭中表現自我。牠們沒有一刻能夠安靜下來,需要定期獲得心理刺激或體能鍛練。這是透過遊戲去訓練基本指令和技能的最佳時機。另一方面,小狗的生理成熟期也即將來臨。結紮節育後,牠們的營養需求會改變,可以吸收較少能量(也就是卡路里)來保持正常體重範圍。如你注意到小狗有過重的情況,請尋求獸醫的協助。

7 個月大時,小狗仍在建立肌肉質量,需要易於消化的優質蛋白質來支持肌肉發展。

到了10 個月大,小型犬的體型已接近成犬。而較大的犬種則會在15 至24 個月之間發育成熟。由於大型犬骨骼寬大,肌肉質量較多,對骨骼施加的壓力相對就更大了。牠們應該繼續食用專為大型犬而設的幼犬食品,以支持關節發育。

小狗發育期過後,應轉餵成犬食品,在不增加卡路里吸收的情況下維持其體重。而隨著年齡增長,應好好規劃適合其健康需要的營養。

 

根據小狗年齡調整每日餵食次數

有關狗糧份量的溫馨提示:獸醫或狗糧包裝上的建議餵食量是指1天內的份量,應平均分配到每天進餐次數中,以避免過度餵食。如果你有使用零食進行訓練的習慣,這些獎勵食物的卡路里應要計入小狗每日的食物份量之中。

 

幼犬的餵食時間表

以下是一個如何安排一天4餐的例子:

6:00 a.m.

起床

6:30 a.m.

散步/活動

7:00 a.m.

第一餐(進食與散步需隔開一段時間)

吃得太急太快可能會導致大型犬,如拉布拉多和德國牧羊犬出現腹脹。腹脹發生得很突然,且會令狗狗有生命危險。症狀包括明顯腹部腫脹,觸摸按壓時會感到疼痛、嘔吐、流口水和焦躁不安。

9:00 a.m.

第二次散步/活動

11:00 a.m.

第二餐

1:00 p.m.

午餐後散步/活動

4:00 p.m.

第三餐

7:00 p.m.

散步/活動

9:00 p.m.

第四餐

主人抱著柯基幼犬

每天建議進食量

不論哪個品種,每隻小狗的體型、新陳代謝和營養需求都各有不同。食品標籤甚至獸醫都會提供每日餵食量的建議。剛開始時,你可以跟從這些建議,然後觀察小狗的反應。牠們的身體狀況就是反映食量的最佳指標。假如你發現牠體重在增加,就代表小狗可能進食過量了。相反,如果牠愈食愈瘦,那就有需要增加份量了。獸醫能就愛犬的身體狀況提供建議,定期給小狗量度體重並對照成長曲線,有效確保牠們走在正確的成長路上。

如你採用零食獎勵訓練,應該調整每餐食物份量,以平衡零食中攝取的額外卡路里。

 

幼犬的餵食規律與技巧

  • 訓練小狗每天在同一時間和地點進食。你可以在家中安排一個比較安靜的地方,遠離家人走動的位置,讓小狗進食時不受干擾,有助培養健康良好的飲食習慣。
  • 盡量不要一回家就馬上投餵小狗。這種做法可能會令小狗把進食與你回家這件事聯繫起來。回家是與小狗重新連結的時間,而不是代表用餐的時間。
  • 如有任何疑問,請隨時與獸醫討論小狗的營養需求。
  • 假如你提供的幼犬食品含有充足而優質的必要營養,那麼額外營養補充品是不必要的,過多營養造成的傷害可能比益處更多。
  • 如你正在考慮轉換小狗的狗糧,應該先與獸醫討論,以確定愛犬的營養需求。然後慢慢地更換,以避免消化不良。

 

轉換狗糧的時間表

新舊糧換餵比例
如果狗狗出現腸胃脹氣或腹瀉,請與獸醫聯絡,看看是否需要更換食物或調整份量。

最後,主人家中應長期供應新鮮食水,當小狗的身體擁有充足水分時,才可好好吸收所有營養,以支持發育期的急速成長。

 

相關文章

拉不拉多幼犬吃飼料

餵飼幼犬和幼犬營養

繼續閱讀
幼犬喝水

更換狗糧指南

繼續閱讀

回到頂部