Helping cats and dogs live their healthiest lives.
Health and wellbeing

Urinary incontinence in dogs

Ageing Golden Retriever lying down outdoors in grass.
Incontinence in elderly dogs is common, and can be caused by a wide variety of factors. Learn more about the causes and the treatments in this article.

As your dog ages, you will notice changes in their behaviour, personality and physique. Incontinence is a common occurrence among older dogs, and it’s important you feel confident in being able to care for them.

If your older dog is incontinent, they’ll stop urinating in the same way as when they were younger; they may not recognise when they are urinating, leave trails of urine on the floor, or struggle to urinate. It’s crucial not to chastise them for this behaviour – they’re not doing this on purpose, but rather because they aren’t able to control these functions.

Just like humans, dogs can suffer from digestive problems which cause discomfort, unpleasant symptoms and sometimes wider-reaching health issues. Their diet is a key way to help manage digestive sensitivities and maintain a healthy digestive system.

What causes incontinence in dogs?

Just like in humans, when dogs age their physical form changes; muscles weaken and nerve control over different parts of the body can lessen. Incontinence can be caused by a simple ageing of the muscles around the urinary system, and a lack of control over those muscles.

Female dogs are more likely to develop incontinence than male dogs, and some larger breeds have a predisposition to this problem. This includes Boxers, Dobermans, Giant Schnauzers, Great Danes and German Shepherds. Among the sterilised female dog population, 30% of dogs weighing over 20kg suffer from incontinence; in smaller breeds this is less than 10%.

There are suggestions that obesity can have an impact on the likelihood of incontinence, particularly in neutered female dogs. The concept is that the weight of fat around the urinary system has a mechanical impact on the muscles, which can then lead to incontinence.

Underlying urinary issues can also cause incontinence, including inflammation of the urinary system and cystitis, an infection, or the development of ‘stones’ (called urolithiasis). Overall illnesses like diabetes or neurological disorders can also cause incontinence, so it’s important to take your dog to the vet as soon as you notice a change in their behaviour to do with urinating.

Ageing Great Dane standing outdoors in a field.

How can incontinent dogs be treated?

Depending on the cause of their incontinence, your dog will be treated in different ways. If it is a muscular issue, your vet may prescribe certain stimulants which induce better control of their urinary muscles. These are efficient in 75% of cases.

If your dog has an underlying urinary issue, your vet may suggest surgery to remove any stones in their system, prescribe antibiotics to treat infection, and help you choose a diet which can maintain good urinary health. The vet may also suggest lifestyle changes, such as encouraging your dog to be more active and therefore reducing the risk of further urinary problems.

If there is a larger medical cause, your vet will look to treat that as a whole, rather than only the incontinence.

If you see your dog’s behaviour around urinating has changed as they’ve aged, there’s no reason to think nothing can be done; make an appointment with your local vet who will be able to advise you on the best course of action.

  • Urinary Health

Like & share this page

Related Articles
Adult dog standing outside eating from a red bowl.

Understanding your dog's urinary health and its diet

Young dog lying down on a sofa.

Bladder problems in dogs

Adult Great Dane standing in a garden drinking from a silver bowl.

​How are urinary problems in dogs treated?

Find a vet

If you have any concerns about your dog’s health, consult a vet for professional advice.

Where to Buy
Jack Russel Terrier adult standing in black and white on a white background
Cookie Settings

幫助貓狗過最健康的生活。

狗狗尿失禁

年邁金毛尋回犬躺在戶外草地上。
失禁是老年犬常見的問題,而且可能的原因有很多。 閱讀本文章,深入了解原因和治療方法。

當狗狗的年齡不斷增長時,您會發現他們的行為、個性和體格也逐漸發生改變。 失禁是老年犬常見的問題,而您一定要加以了解,才能好好照顧他們。

如果您的老年犬有失禁的問題,他們就不會像自己年輕的時候一樣停止排尿;他們可能不知道自己正在排尿,因此會在地板上留下尿漬,或在小便中掙扎。 極之重要的一點是,絕對不要因此懲罰他們,因為這不是他們故意的,而是他們無法控制自己。

就像人類一樣,狗隻亦可能受到消化問題的影響,引起不適和不愉快的困擾,甚至觸及更廣泛的健康問題。 狗狗的飲食習慣是管理消化敏感以及維護健康消化系統的關鍵方式。

導致狗狗尿失禁的原因有哪些?

就像人類一樣,當狗狗年齡逐漸增長,他們的體態亦會隨之改變,肌肉會逐漸退化,而身體不同部位的神經控制亦會減弱。 失禁可能是泌尿系統周圍肌肉老化,而且無法完全控制這些肌肉所引起。

母犬比公犬更容易有失禁的問題,而部分大型犬也更容易有這種問題。 其中包括拳師犬、杜賓犬、巨型雪納瑞犬、大丹犬和德國牧羊犬。 根據統計,在體重超過 20 公斤的已絕育母犬中,有 30% 的犬隻有失禁的問題,而有這種問題的小型犬比例則少於 10%。

有人認為肥胖可能造成失禁,特別是已絕育的母犬更是如此。 這個概念是泌尿系統周圍的脂肪重量對肌肉造成物理影響,而這可能導致發生失禁的問題。

潛在的泌尿問題亦可能導致失禁,包括泌尿系統發炎和膀胱炎、感染或「結石」(稱為尿石症)。 如糖尿病或神經系統疾病等全身性疾病亦可能導致犬隻掉毛,因此只要發現他們的排尿習慣改變,請務必尋求獸醫的協助。

年邁大丹犬站在戶外田野中。

如何治療狗狗失禁問題?

視乎失禁的成因,您的狗狗將會有不同的治療選擇。 如果是肌肉組織的問題,獸醫會建議適當的治療方式,幫助狗狗控制泌尿系統的肌肉。 75% 的病例能有效控制。

如果您的狗狗有的泌尿問題,獸醫可能會建議用手術或其他方式來治療,並幫助您選擇能夠維持泌尿健康的飲食。 獸醫亦會建議改變生活方式,例如,鼓勵狗狗多活動,藉此降低進一步出現泌尿問題的風險。

如果有更廣泛的醫療因素,獸醫將其視為整體進行治療,而不只是針對失禁問題。

如果您發現狗狗隨著年齡增長出現排尿行為改變,千萬不要認為自己無能為力,請預約當地獸醫,獸醫將能為您建議最好的行動方案。

  • 泌尿系統健康

讚好和分享此頁面

相關文章
年青狗狗躺在梳化上。

狗狗的膀胱問題

成年大丹犬在花園裡站著飲用銀色碗中的水。

如何治療狗的泌尿問題?

Adult dog standing outside eating from a red bowl

了解您愛犬的泌尿健康與他們的飲食

尋找獸醫

若對愛犬的健康有任何疑慮,請諮詢獸醫的專業意見。

購買地點
成年傑克羅素爹利犬站在白色背景前的黑白照