Helping cats and dogs live their healthiest lives.
Kitten

When to spay a female cat?

Young cat lying down on an examination table being checked over by a vet.
Many owners choose to get their cat spayed, and its a safe and common procedure. Our simple guide to spaying explains what it is, how it works, and what effects there can be.

Getting your female cat spayed is an important decision. It can positively affect her health and wellbeing, but also has a number of potential complications and repercussions.

What is spaying?

Spaying is the process of sterilising your female cat. In male cats, it’s called neutering, although sometimes this term is used to refer to the sterilisation process in both males and females.

How does spaying work?

Spaying must be conducted by a vet or other qualified professional, and entails your cat undergoing an operation. It then prevents your female cat – also called a queen – from producing eggs which could be fertilised by a male cat, as well as stopping their body emitting sex hormones which attract males.

When can I get my cat spayed?

Whether male or female, you can get your cat sterilised around puberty. For queens, this is at six to seven months old, although it can be done safely from the age of three months. Female kittens tend to have their first heat cycle when they’re six months old; you’ll notice a change in their behaviour as they meow a lot, rub up against your legs or furniture, and adopt a mating posture whenever their back is touched.

Should I get my cat spayed?

It’s up to you whether you decide to get your queen spayed, or whether you want her to have kittens in the future. There are a number of benefits to sterilising your cat; the most important is that it can significantly increase her lifespan.

Spaying can also:

  • Prevent unwanted litters
  • Reduce the likelihood of your queen fighting with other cats
  • Reduce the likelihood of STIs spreading
  • Limit the number of stray cats which occur with unwanted litters
  • Reduce the symptoms of being in heat, which can be noisy and irritating for owners

How will spaying affect my cat’s diet?

As soon as your cat has been spayed, you’ll start to notice changes in her behaviour – including her feeding habits. Her appetite can increase by 20-25%, but her actual energy expenditure reduces by 30%. This means it’s very easy for your queen to over eat and store the extra energy as fat.

If you decide to spay your cat while she’s still a kitten, she will still be growing and therefore needs a food which supports this without encouraging her to put on weight unnecessarily. Specific food, formulated for sterilised kittens, is one of the best things to feed her at this point.

What complications can there be with spaying?

The biggest complications associated with spaying come from the potential weight your cat can gain, which in turn can lead to serious health conditions. Diabetes and joint disease are both linked to obesity in cats, while sedentary or indoor cats can end up with digestive issues  due to a lack of movement and lots of time spent grooming themselves.

Deciding to get your cat spayed is a decision which can positively affect her health and home life, but it does have long-lasting effects. If you’d like further advice, speak to your vet who’ll be able to advise you on the best course of action.

  • Sustained Growth

Like & share this page

Tailored nutrition for your kitten

Nutritional formulas that help to build your kitten's natural defences, support healthy growth, and aid in digestive system development.

Kitten products
kitten packshot
Related Articles
Kitten lying on a table being examined by a vet

Should I neuter my male cat?

Adult cat lying down on owners knee while being groomed with a red brush.

Hygiene and grooming tips for your kitten

Adult cat running outdoors on gravel.

How to help your kitten stay in shape

Cookie Settings

何時要為母貓絕育?母貓絕育年齡、好處和副作用

1/5/2023
閱讀時間 10 分鐘
除了有繁殖需求的貓舍或養貓家庭,大多數養貓人士都會帶母貓絕育。本篇指南為您介紹母貓絕育相關資訊、建議時間、好處及副作用,希望對您有幫助!
年青的貓咪躺在檢驗枱上由獸醫檢查。

 

 

透過本⽂您可以了解:

  • 甚麼是貓絕育?
  • 母貓絕育的原理是甚麼?
  • 母貓甚麼時候可以絕育?
  • 貓絕育好處有哪些?
  • 貓絕育後會帶來甚麼飲食影響?
  • 貓絕育副作用有哪些?
  • 【點擊標題可快速跳⾄該段落】

     

    在母貓絕育後,貓咪會獲得許多貓絕育好處,比如減少吵鬧、延長壽命等,不過,亦有潛在的併發症和負面影響。所以,為母貓絕育是一個很重要的決定,需要主人結合實際情況再作打算。

     

    甚麼是貓絕育?

    貓絕育是讓母貓無法生育的一種手術。母貓絕育的英文是「Spaying」,而公貓絕育則是「Neutering」,不過「Neutering」也是公貓母貓絕育的統稱。

    母貓絕育的原理是甚麼?

    母貓絕育必須由獸醫或其他合格的專業人士進行須全身麻醉的手術。手術後,母貓就不會再製造可以受精的卵子,亦不會再釋放會吸引公貓的性激素。

    母貓甚麼時候可以絕育?

    無論是公貓絕育還是母貓絕育,貓絕育時間都可以在性成熟時進行。對母貓而言,通常是在六至七個月大時絕育,不過三個月大的時候亦可以安全手術。母貓通常會在六個月大的時候第一次發情,此時牠們的行為會發生變化,比如牠們會一直喵喵叫、會磨蹭您的腿或家具,而且會在背部被碰觸時做出交配姿勢。 

    貓絕育好處有哪些?

    母貓是否需要絕育的決定權全在主人身上,如果希望母貓將來可以生育幼貓,則可以選擇不絕育或暫時不絕育。最主要的是,為貓絕育好處很多:

     

    絕育還可以:

    • 延長貓咪的壽命
    • 避免不慎生出更多幼貓
    • 降低母貓與其他貓咪打架的可能性
    • 減少貓咪之間性病傳染     
    • 避免貓咪隨地排尿
    • 防止貓咪離家出走 
    • 減少吵鬧且會令主人困擾的發情症狀  

    貓絕育後會帶來甚麼飲食影響?

    貓絕育後,您會漸漸開始發現其食慾和運動量會發生改變。貓咪食量可能增加20-25%,但實際的熱量消耗卻減少了30%。亦即是說,在貓貓絕育後,貓咪很容易攝取過量的食物,但運動量卻比絕育之前更少,所以導致身體將多餘的熱量轉換成脂肪,容易造成肥胖問題。

    如果您決定在幼貓時就為愛貓絕育,由於貓咪此時的身體仍會正常成長,因此你需要給貓咪餵食能夠支持成長所需、但又不會導致體重異常增加的貓咪飲食。在此時,主人可以選擇專為絕育後的幼貓所特別配置的食物,比如絕育貓體重維持健康管理袋裝濕糧,並使用正確的餵養方式餵食手術後的愛貓,以促進貓絕育傷口康復。

     

    貓絕育副作用有哪些?

    貓絕育後最大的副作用,就是可能會增加貓咪的體重,最後導致健康出現問題。比如,糖尿病和關節疾病都與貓咪的肥胖症有關,而且不愛動或室內貓還可能會因為運動量不夠,以及過份整理毛髮,最終導致出現貓吐毛這種消化系統問題

    決定為貓咪絕育,對貓咪的健康和生活品質會帶來積極影響,不過亦可能會使貓出現長期的肥胖問題。當貓咪因絕育而肥胖時,主人可以提供適合的食物,同時促使貓咪多做運動,讓貓咪保持健康體重。如果您需要更多建議,請與您的獸醫商討,他們可以為您提供最好的治療建議。

     

    回到頂部

    為幼貓度身定製的營養配方

    這些營養豐富的配方有助您的幼貓建立天然抵抗力,促進健康成長,並幫助消化系統良好發育。

    幼貓產品
    Content Block With Text And Image 1