Understanding man's best friends: 8 popular dog breeds you should know

14/11/2019
Dog owners can never get bored of seeing their furry babies welcoming them at the door with wagging tails. Dogs are known to be outgoing and friendly, who never hide their love and feelings, be it happy, angry or depressed.

Yet, every dog is special with different habits, preferences and tempers. You must understand their nature to tailor your way of building the relationship with them. This time we are going to introduce 8 popular dog breeds across all sizes, as well as their personalities!


Poodles

Poodles come in three sizes, Standard, Miniature and Toy. They are energetic and friendly, and enjoy playing with kids. They are among the smartest dog breeds (rank second only to Border Collies); they can handle difficult commands and also complex games like hide and seek. Seeing themselves as a part of the family, poodles hate to be neglected. If they are left at home for too long, they tend to lose temper easily and be naughty in order to protest.

More info about Poodles


Pomeranians

Despite the petite, rounded and cute appearance, Pomeranians are known to be feisty and bold like large dogs. They are also defensive who bark sharp and loud. Since they are extremely sensitive to the environment, they can be capable watch dogs. Yet, if they cross the line, they tend to be paranoid and bark incessantly. What’s more, Pomeranians are energetic and hyperactive. They love being busy and are willing to learn new tricks to make their owners happy. 

More info about Pomeranians


Labrador Retriever 

As the most popular dog breeds in America, Labrador Retrievers have warm and lovely smiles. They are easy-going, outgoing and high-spirited; they can easily open everyone’s heart and create strong bonds with their owners. Born to be socially active, they can quickly fit in and get along with neighbours and other pets. They need a high level of physical activity to burn their energy. They are known to enjoy exercises including swimming, throwing and catching, or just running around. 

More info about Labrador Retriever 


Shibas

Being an ancient dog breed from Japan, Shibas are lean and small. They are confident, attentive, loyal and active. As they are born playful and curious, they love to butt in and participate in family activities. However, they are always impatient. They don’t love barking but they can be very vocal in expressing their emotions. When they are excited and want your attention, they tend to raise their tone. When you pet them, they tend to purr like cats. 

More info about Shiba


Shih Tzus

Originating in China, Shih Tzus has won the royal hearts with dark eyes and winning faces. Instead of hunting, chasing and defending, they are born to be charming and cute so as to win their owners’ hearts. To Shih Tzus, nothing makes them happier than sitting on their owners’ laps and getting attention. They are super friendly and can make friends with strangers quickly. They are also not so active, which makes them suitable for urban families.

More about Shih Tzus


French Bulldogs

Face wrinkles and eyebrows are the iconic features of French Bulldogs. Despite their fierce looks, they are actually affectionate, loving and patient, even when playing with rude kids. They are usually calm but they also love cuddling or curling up on their owners’ laps. Since their short noses make them hard to breathe, they prefer brisk walks instead of running. Suitable to live in houses, with or without a small backyard can also do. 

More about French Bulldogs


Golden Retriever

Being tireless and passionate, Golden Retrievers are the best helpers for hunting and outdoor working, not to mention leading blind people, searching and rescuing. Though they look cute and innocent, they are in fact intelligent and helpful who seek chances to be assigned with missions like taking the newspapers or waking up kids for satisfaction. They are outgoing and love outdoor activities. Adult Golden Retrievers are still childlike, always being agile and high-spirited.

More about Golden Retrievers


Chihuahuas

Having big teary eyes and petite sizes, Chihuahuas are smart, agile and charming. Being praised as “the smallest watch dogs in the world”, they have the “large dog” attitude - wise and alert. Chihuahuas have their own distinct temperament, and can act dominant. The lack of commands and training can make them bullies at home. However, they can be very needy and loyal at the same time, such as following their owners around the house. 

More about Chihuahuas


It’s not hard to conclude that the preferences and personalities of each dog breed are different. That’s why Royal Canin has launched the Tailored Dog Nutrition Series according to dogs’ personalities, features and jaw structures. Nevertheless, don’t ever try to label your dogs by breeds. Spend more time to interact with your pets, that’s the only way you can understand their uniqueness.

Back to top

8大熱門狗狗個性分析:性格、脾氣、喜好一次過看懂

9/6/2022
養狗狗最幸福的事,不外乎是每天回家,都能看見一隻用力搖著尾巴的毛小孩,向您予以熱烈歡迎。這些外向、熱情的汪星人,從不掩飾對主人的愛;真性情的牠們,情緒也總是寫在臉上,無論開心、生氣或憂鬱,都展露無遺。

然而,每隻狗狗都是獨一無二的個體,擁有不同的習性、喜好及脾氣,如何「因材施教」、與毛孩培養好感情,還得先從認識牠們的天性開始。以下 8 大常見犬種,帶您一窺各個大、中、小型狗的獨特性格!


貴婦狗
貴婦狗按照體型大小,可分成標準型、迷你型及玩具型。牠們活潑、友善,熱愛與小孩玩耍,且領悟力高,是屬於比較聰明的犬類(僅次於邊界牧羊犬);不管是高難度指令,還是躲貓貓等複雜的遊戲,統統難不倒牠們。將自己視為家中一份子,貴婦狗極度討厭被冷落,若單獨被留在家太長時間,容易發脾氣或刻意搗蛋,以示抗議。

更多貴婦狗資訊


松鼠狗
圓滾滾的松鼠狗,外型嬌小、可愛,內心卻住著一隻「大狗」靈魂,個性既頑強又無畏。牠們防禦心強、聲音大,對環境變化異常敏銳,若訓練有素,可成為一隻稱職的看門狗;但分寸若沒拿捏好,容易變得神經質,養成胡亂吠叫的壞習慣。此外,松鼠狗好動、精神亢奮,喜愛隨時保持忙碌,並樂於學習新技能,以逗主人開心。  

更多松鼠狗資訊


拉布拉多尋回犬
笑容陽光、溫暖的拉布拉多,是美國最受歡迎的犬種。牠們隨和、外向、精神抖擻,能輕易走入每位家庭成員的心房,與飼主建立深厚的情感連結。作為天生的社交高手,拉布拉多面對街坊鄰居、其他寵物,皆能快速融入、相處融洽。而活力充沛的牠們,更是著名的體育健將,熱愛游泳、拋接遊戲,或在空曠處盡情奔馳,每日都需要高度的活動量。 

更多拉布拉多尋回犬資訊


柴犬
身材精實的柴犬,是來自日本的古老犬種。自信滿滿、警覺性高,既忠心又活躍。由於天性愛玩、充滿好奇心,柴犬特別喜歡湊熱鬧、參與家中事務。急性子的個性,讓牠們普遍缺乏耐心。雖不愛吠叫,柴犬的聲線表達卻非常多元,當牠們興奮、欲博取關注時,通常會提高音頻;而被主人撫摸時,則會像貓咪一樣,發出滿足的咕嚕咕嚕聲。 

更多柴犬資訊


西施犬
黑亮雙眼、甜美外型,源自於中國的西施,自古以來就是風靡皇室的寵物狗。生來就不適合狩獵、追逐、抵禦外敵,西施最擅長的事,莫過於施展魅力、展現可愛的一面,藉此討主人歡心。因為對西施而言,沒有任何事比窩在主人腿上、獲得大量關注,更值得開心。親和力十足的牠們,還能迅速與陌生人成為朋友。且運動量低,適合住宅生活。

更多西施犬資訊


鬥牛犬
皺巴巴的臉頰及眉頭,是鬥牛犬的特色標誌。外表兇悍,骨子裡卻是柔軟又善良。充滿愛心的牠們,即使面對玩摔角、動作粗魯的孩童,仍擁有無窮無盡的耐心。鬥牛犬性格穩重,卻喜歡討抱抱、或試圖蜷縮在主人腿上,獨具反差魅力。由於鼻子短、易導致呼吸困難,鬥牛犬偏好快走、不喜激烈運動,適合住宅生活或附有小後院的房子。

更多鬥牛犬資訊


金毛尋回犬
精力充沛、熱情奔放的金毛尋回犬,堪稱是人類的最佳助手。從打獵、野外工作到盲人嚮導、搜救隊,處處可見牠們樂此不疲的身影。即使一臉呆萌、沒心機,金毛尋回犬其實十分聰慧,渴望被主人交付任務,比如取報紙或叫醒孩子,藉此獲得成就感。外向的牠們,更鍾愛戶外活動。即便成為成犬,依然童心未泯,隨時都興致勃勃、對生活充滿樂趣。  

更多金毛尋回犬資訊


芝娃娃犬
水汪汪大眼配上短小身形,吉娃娃聰明、反應快、動作敏捷,模樣迷人又吸睛。儘管身形細小,卻擁有大狗的態度、智慧及機警,被譽為「世界上最小的看門狗」。個性鮮明、主導性強的吉娃娃,若缺乏指令及管教,容易成為家中小霸王;但牠們同時又非常黏人、重感情,經常亦步亦趨,跟著主人從一個房間移動至另一個,展現高度忠誠。

更多芝娃娃犬資訊


觀察上述 8 種狗狗,不難發現各個犬種的喜好、個性,存在天壤之別。而 Royal Canin 針對不同品種的性格、特性及下顎形狀,量身定制系列狗糧,就是為了滿足這些差異化的需求。不過,飼主千萬別因為品種,就給汪星人貼上標籤。多花時間陪伴牠們、增加彼此的互動,才能真正了解自家毛孩的無可取代性。

回到頂部